The programmes in Bachelors of Science: (B.Sc.) Physics and (B.Sc.) Physics/Electronics are designed to give students the required academic training, practical background and entrepreneur skills who can effectively solve societal problems and carry out researches related to Condensed matter Physics, Space/Ionospheric and Radio waves Physics, Meteorology and Weather fore-casting Physics, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Radiation and Health Physics, Communication Physics, Solar Radiation/Energy Physics, Electronic Instrumentation Physics, and Material and Nanotechnology Physics, with a drive towards service and leadership.

Thus, Physicist and Electronics Personnel are adequately groomed to:

  • Work as Control Tower Analyst/Manager in Aviation and Maritime Industries.
  • Work in Physics Observatory Stations as Research Officers/Scientists.
  • Serves as Radiologists and other health workers Clinics and Health Organisations.
  • Create job opportunities for the unemployed through Scientific Laboratory wares supplying companies, such as, FINLAB, WINELIGHT, etc.
  • Work with the Radio/Television Broadcasting Corporations as a Meteorologist/Weather fore-casting Analyst.
  • Work in the Radiation Laboratory of the World Health Organization (WHO).
  • Work as Wave Signal Analyst/Manager, Signal Implementation Officers/Manager and Signal Transmitting Officer/Manager in Mobile Telecommunication Companies (e.g MTN, globacom, e.t.c.), Nigerian Communication Commission (NCC), e.t.c. and other related organizations.
  • Teach in reputable institutions of learning.

The Department of Physics has the following objectives:

  1. To produce skilled technical and managerial manpower for aviation and maritime industries.
  2. To produce skilled manpower required to establish, manage and direct small scale mobile telecommunication firms and solar/photovoltaic cells fabricating industries using available locally sourced raw material.
  3. To produce graduates who will be involved in designing, producing and supplying measuring instruments for schools and universities laboratories.
  4. To produce skilled technical manpower that will be involved in health consultancy services in hospitals and health organisations.
  5. To produce graduates with knowledge of observing the atmospheric weather conditions and informing the society of how to avoid some of its impending dangers and disasters.
  6. To produce qualified graduates with strong Physics fundamentals background who will be able to teach Physics and allied courses in appropriate institutions of learning.

Ordinary Requirements

Candidates must have five credits in O’level SSCE of WAEC or NECO or IGCSE at not more than two sittings to include:

  • Mathematics Credit
  • English Credit
  • Physics Credit
  • Chemistry Credit
  • Further Mathematics/Biology/Geography Credit

University Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME)

Subject Requirements

  • English language
  • Physics
  • Mathematics
  • Chemistry and any other ONE of Biology/Geography


Direct Entry Requirements

Direct Entry candidates must fulfil the conditions in A (above) and have a minimum of Upper or Lower Credit at the ND Examination or equivalent from a recognized institution or G.C.E (Advanced Level) or equivalent in at least two science subjects with a minimum of a credit (C) in Physics and any of Mathematics or Chemistry to qualify for admission into 200 level of the programmes.

Programme Duration

The Department’s Bachelor of Science programmes runs for a minimum of four (4) years, i.e., eight (8) semesters and maximum of 8 years, i.e., sixteen (16) semesters (for UTME). For Direct Entry candidates, a minimum of three (3) years, i.e., six (6) semesters and maximum of 6 years, i.e., twelve (12) semesters. As part of the programme, students will go for field mapping exercise in 200 level both within and outside the school premises, attend technical meeting of affiliated groups and excursion to industries in order to incorporate class room knowledge with practical applications. Also, in the course of the programme, at the end of second semesters of both the second year and the third year, students will go on three-month Industrial attachment called Students’ Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES) for each of the said years in the related industries.

At the end of the SIWES training, the students will return to spend the third and fourth years to continue and complete their course work and undertake a detailed research work (project) form the respective years. On successful completion of the programme, candidates shall be awarded Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Physics and (B.Sc.) in Physics/Electronics respectively for the two programmes in the Department.

Staff List


# Name
1 Dr. EHINLAFA, Emmanuel Olusegun